Disability Community to Host National Election Debate on Disability Issues

Disability Community to Host National Election Debate on Disability Issues

Canadians with disabilities are far too often an afterthought of politicians and government. During the last federal election, no question was asked during the leaders debates about persons with disabilities or about creating a more accessible Canada. As a result, the community has taken it upon themselves to host a national and accessible debate, focused exclusively on people with disabilities.

A coalition of over 25 disability organizations are calling on the major political parties to attend a national election debate on disability issues. Organized by the Pan-Canadian Disability Coalition on September 7, this debate will give the major political parties the opportunity to share their vision and platform for the nearly 6.2 million Canadians with disabilities.

  • Where: Virtual via Zoom and social media. Webinar will be recorded.
  • Language and Accessibility: English, French, ASL, LSQ, and CART/Captioning.

September 7, 2021 | 4:00 PM PT | 5:00 PM MT | 6:00 PM CT | 7:00 PM ET | 8:00 PM AT | 8:30 PM NL

RSVP Now!

About the Pan-Canadian Disability Coalition

The Pan-Canadian Disability Coalition is a coalition of over 25 disability organizations across Canada. Our mission is to ensure that attitudes, policies, services, and programs in all areas of Canadian society are barrier free and welcome participation by everyone living in Canada. Our mission will be achieved by working together to ensure that all Canadian policies, services, and programs are designed, implemented, and evaluated using a disability/ accessibility lens.

Read the full news release.

Leave a Reply